Coherent UI crash making selecting starting position impossible

Discussion in 'Support!' started by ochranindustries, May 1, 2015.

  1. ochranindustries

    ochranindustries New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    When attempting to play Galactic War games one or more of the coherent ui processes is dying making it impossible to select a starting position. I've attached zip files of the logs available in c:\user\AppData\Local\Uber Entertainment\Planetary Annihilation and \log

    Environment:
    Windows 7 64 bit, fully patched
    i5, 16GB Ram (see dxdiag64 for further information)
    HD 7800 series running latest version (14.501.1003.0)
    Steam build v80462 (PTE doesn't seem to have any relevant coherent UI fixes)
    Planetary Annihilation Server: Local
    Mods: None installed other than default


    Expected:
    Start game via Steam
    Select Single Player -> Galactic War
    Select War -> Go To War
    Select a planet with an opposing commander -> Fight
    Wait for system to build
    Select starting planet and starting position
    Fight enemy commander

    Actual:
    During start position selection the top right planet selector does not show, nor does the bottom band 'Pick a location inside one of the green zones ...'. Attached is 2015-05-01_00001.jpg showing the issue, as opposed to 2015-05-01_00002.jpg which shows what is expected.

    Edit: Adding some information I didn't put in: This issue is sporadic - it'll occure when I start up, I'll ctrl-alt-del and kill the pa process, and then on next startup it'll work fine. I don't believe this is a resource issue, as I have plenty of ram and cpu free at the time of the issue.

    2015-05-01_00001.jpg 2015-05-01_00002.jpg

    Windows Event Viewer:
    Faulting application name: CoherentUI_Host.exe, version: 2.5.4.0, time stamp: 0x54bf94d6
    Faulting module name: CoherentUI_Host.exe, version: 2.5.4.0, time stamp: 0x54bf94d6
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000a5051
    Faulting process id: 0x12548
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d083d5c4c313cb
    Faulting application path: D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Planetary Annihilation\bin_x64\host\CoherentUI_Host.exe
    Faulting module path: D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Planetary Annihilation\bin_x64\host\CoherentUI_Host.exe
    Report Id: 8fef58b4-efca-11e4-a256-14dae9f5e37f
    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2015-05-01T06:23:21.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>52188</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Max</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data>CoherentUI_Host.exe</Data>
    <Data>2.5.4.0</Data>
    <Data>54bf94d6</Data>
    <Data>CoherentUI_Host.exe</Data>
    <Data>2.5.4.0</Data>
    <Data>54bf94d6</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>000a5051</Data>
    <Data>12548</Data>
    <Data>01d083d5c4c313cb</Data>
    <Data>D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Planetary Annihilation\bin_x64\host\CoherentUI_Host.exe</Data>
    <Data>D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Planetary Annihilation\bin_x64\host\CoherentUI_Host.exe</Data>
    <Data>8fef58b4-efca-11e4-a256-14dae9f5e37f</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 1, 2015
  2. s03g

    s03g Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    22
    I recommend around 15 processes although my system is different to your own so you have to see how many processes are best for your system :)
    ochranindustries likes this.
  3. ochranindustries

    ochranindustries New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for that, although I don't believe that will help my issue. I've updated my original post - this issue occurs when there is plenty of cpu/ram available for use. Killing the pa process and then starting over generally means it will work and I'll be able to play a game with no problems.

    PA.exe itself isn't crashing - it's one of the coherent ui processes.
  4. s03g

    s03g Member

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yeah, I know what you mean although I was sceptical about doing it as the processes were crashing when I was trying to have a game with about 5+ planets and the UI crashed and I used to do what you're doing now. Since changing it however the UI hasn't crashed since :). I don't know why it would affect the systems we have. I'll upload my DxDiag too just on the off chance if anyone would like to have a look as to why this appears to be affecting our systems :).

    I am aware that the PA executable wasn't crashing for you but I did feel that remy561's comment is valid because if you limit the UI to much then it will become laggy.

    Both comments are from a different situation but I was after a quick howto for you as well as a downside if you were to limit it too far if that makes sense?

    Attached Files:

    ochranindustries likes this.
  5. DeathByDenim

    DeathByDenim Post Master General

    Messages:
    4,326
    Likes Received:
    2,118
    According to your dxdiag.txt, you have a dual graphics card. Does that mean you use Crossfire? If so, could you try disabling that as a test and see if you still have issues? There were some issues with that in the past and I'm not sure if those got fixed.

    And yeah, less CoherentUI processes probably means less likely crashes. :)

    Another thought (and this applies to @s03g as well), is to scan the Windows system files for errors with sfc /scannow. See https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929833/ for details.

    Finally, there is a list of software known to cause trouble with PA. I don't think your specific problem is on that list, but I thought I'd mention it anyway on the odd chance that you do have some of that software installed.
    http://steamcommunity.com/app/233250/discussions/2/558751813508748383/
  6. ochranindustries

    ochranindustries New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh, fair enough. I wouldn't have thought that limiting the amount of processes would work, but I'll give it a whirl. Appreciate the comment.

    * Single graphics card driving two monitors.
    * sfc /scannow in an administrator command prompt reports no integrity violations
    * Not running any of those programs
    (appreciate the comment as well)

    I'll restrict the processes and see what that does
  7. ochranindustries

    ochranindustries New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    No issues so far with
    Code:
    --coherent-options="--renderer-process-limit=5"
    
    DeathByDenim and s03g like this.
  8. DeathByDenim

    DeathByDenim Post Master General

    Messages:
    4,326
    Likes Received:
    2,118
    And the UI is still snappy with so few?
    ochranindustries likes this.
  9. ochranindustries

    ochranindustries New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    No difference that I can see. Planet generation might (it's hard to tell) be a bit faster, too.
    DeathByDenim likes this.
  10. DeathByDenim

    DeathByDenim Post Master General

    Messages:
    4,326
    Likes Received:
    2,118
    Cool. Good to know. Thanks!
  11. ochranindustries

    ochranindustries New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    DeathByDenim likes this.

Share This Page