Linux FOSS drivers issues and fixes

Discussion in 'Mac and Linux' started by SXX, August 27, 2013.

1. mjog

mjog New Member

Well, beat myself to it. I'm getting some lovely textures now under Mesa 9.2 after converting all shaders to version 130, removing GL_EXT_gpu_shader4 and renaming texelFetch2D to just texelFetch. I'll update the PA issue.

Can even see where the metal is! Woo!
    SXX likes this.
  2. SXX

SXX Post Master General

Wow I renamed functions, but don't think we can just rename function. Are you totally sure it's they're doing the same?
  3. mjog

mjog New Member

Haha, oh well. Trust ATI and Nvidia to do the wrong thing! :D
  4. mjog

mjog New Member

Yeah, after a quick comparison of the description of the two functions, in the GL 1.3 spec and in the EXT_gpu_shader4 docs, they seem at least roughly equivalent. Makes sense I guess - if the extension was popular then there's no reason to not standardise it. Note I am a complete GL newb however, so YMMV. :)
  5. SXX

SXX Post Master General

Also actually it's quite interesting to see if this fix will work for OS X dudes with AMD video. o_O
  6. mjog

mjog New Member

Are they having similar problems? If it is the same thing, you should totally make a note in FS#2427 that it's not just us free software hippies having the problem! :)
  7. SXX

SXX Post Master General

Obviously at least everyone with Intel graphics have this problem on Windows.

Also I uploaded fixed shaders here. :)

PS: Oh crap, now tropic planets might have 20M of polygons again. :eek:

Attached Files:

Last edited: October 8, 2013
  8. mjog

mjog New Member

Sweet! Also note I posted fixes for the remaining two shaders in FS#2428. With those in place, I'm now getting no GLSL errors at all.
  9. SXX

SXX Post Master General

As long as I understand prelight_virtual_vizmip.fs and prelight_virtual_vizpage.fs are not used in game.
    They are here broken for long long time.
  10. mjog

mjog New Member