Umbrellas VS Anchors

Discussion in 'Balance Discussions' started by emraldis, April 24, 2014.

1. emraldis

emraldis Post Master General

In the experimental build, anchors seem to have greater range than umbrellas. they also kill them very quickly, or at least with a few anchors, you can decimate umbrellas, and they won't even shoot back.
  2. tehtrekd

tehtrekd Post Master General

Gee, it's almost as if Anchors shooting the ground was a bad idea.
  3. emraldis

I don't know if it was a bad idea, but it's just too powerful at the moment. Either make a new unit that can shoot the ground with rapidfire, or make the anchor do less damage against ground, or have much less range against ground.
  4. Antiglow

Antiglow Well-Known Member

Seeing as I have not had time to play the current build I have no personal experience with this. However if it is as bad as you say I would be for the "new unit" or "less range" option.
  5. emraldis

me as well, I really don't think that anchors should hard-counter umbrellas.
  6. mered4

mered4 Post Master General

True. Anchors are orbital laser towers, as meta put it.

Don't build them aggressively - build them tactically.
  7. emraldis

But that's the issue, you can build them agressively, and there is nothing people can do about it atm...
  8. mered4

mered4 Post Master General

Thus the overwhelming calls for a price increase.
  9. LeadfootSlim

LeadfootSlim Well-Known Member

In theory, you should be building your Anchors aggressively outside of Umbrella range to try to siege your way into a beachhead - rather than simply being shut out forever. To counter this, your enemy must use Avengers to kill your fabbers before they can get Anchors built. To counter-counter this, you need your own Avengers...

It's a fair bit more interesting than it has been.
    zaphodx likes this.
  10. emraldis

Problem is that as soon as you have more than 3 anchors set up, your enemy can't do anything...
  11. krakanu

krakanu Well-Known Member