Tutorial Request and my Experience as a total noob

Discussion in 'Mod Discussions' started by swizzlewizzle, October 9, 2014.

1. swizzlewizzle

swizzlewizzle Active Member

My request:
    1. A basic "getting started" guide that includes tips on how to set up your dev environment, how to debug any errors that one creates and how to set up a basic mod that does something simple to the game.

2. A tutorial explaining how to bring a model straight from 3ds max into the game. Perferably a model that uses multi textures in a composite/multi-texture format (how to merge the texture and create the team colors textures from it would be great!!!).

Ok so my experience as a total noob trying to throw together a quick mod test:

I want to figure out how to set up my mod and get it working ingame. It's a server mod. Go to the modding reference/guide thread (https://forums.uberent.com/threads/pa-modding-reference-guides-applications-tools.48136/) but don't find any "starting up" guide of some sort. Worried I have no idea how to debug anything, what sort of dev environment I should be using.

I go and download the realm balance mod since it's also a server mod and adds a new model or two (my goal). After downloading, I copy the file structure and get my "mod" (just a cut down version of realm balance using a few of their files to make sure my mod is in) working. Seems to work. Removing units also seems to work. Yay.

Next step, I need to convert my model to something that I can add to PA. I check out the papa thread (https://forums.uberent.com/threads/reference-papadump-exe-papatran-exe.48386/) and notice I need a papa file (seems to be converted by a FBX file made by 3ds max??) and a few PNG files (looks like the textures from the model).

I load up my model in 3ds max and save it out as a FBX. My model's textures are basically a multi material consisting of 4 seperate TGA. However, I have no idea how to merge these together into a single PNG that PA wants. :(