Technical discussion behind Unit Cannon

Discussion in 'Backers Lounge (Read-only)' started by nofear1299, May 26, 2014.

1. nofear1299

nofear1299 Active Member

I would love for someone from Uber to answer this -

Someone stated that the unit cannon was very difficult to implement in PA and I was wondering why from a technical perspective(aside obviously from the time spent).

I'm studying programming and am about to start trying my hand at Game dev and my thoughts were would it not be a case of setting up an animation of the units going into the cannon, deleting the original whilst adding it into an array then shooting that array object across (I'm assuming this is the complex bit? Surely it would be similar situation as nukes going inter-planetary?) Then once the object reaches the destination you animate it again to show it unfolding into the units and recreate them at that position?

Also, someone mentioned it would be very different to how you implemented it in Supcom 2. Why is that?

This is in no means a "Hurry up and GIEF UNIT CANNON thread" just wanted to know what the technical bits behind it is ^^
  2. nimro

nimro Member

I imagine much of the difficulty is not in the technicality of programming, but making Unit Cannon a useful and balanced part of the game.

In order to add something as conceptually complex as an interplanetary Unit Cannon, one needs to consider strengths, weaknesses, how an opponent would counter, unit cost, etc. In SupCom 2, the Unit Cannon had a range similar to the Experimental Artillery, so before you could use it you needed map control of an area close enough to the enemy's base that I usually just drove my army in manually...! However if you want to have interplanetary Unit Cannon then that simple act of balance, range, is no longer so simple.