Synching games over computers

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by gibouille, June 3, 2014.

1. gibouille

gibouille New Member

I started playing galactic wars on my new mac and gained a loadout but the games doesn't work too well on mac so I now mostly play on an older windows machine. But I had to restart from scratch.

If the game is going to need to be connected to a server even for solo play I would expect it to be able to synch my progression over multiple computers.

I intend to install a linux to test it over linux too.
  2. KNight

KNight Post Master General

The server connection is only required because of PA's Pre-Release nature. I don't know for sure but I imagine all the info for GW is still stored locally and when you connect with a server to start a battle your machine sends the server all the relevant info so there might be a way to transfer it but I can't say for sure.

Mike
  3. cola_colin

cola_colin Moderator Alumni

GW info is locally stored like the settings. I dunno where the file is on OSX, but on windows this directory seems to store the settings of PA:

%LOCALAPPDATA%\Uber Entertainment\Planetary Annihilation\localstore

I've reinstalled my windows a few week ago and had backed up the whole
    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Uber Entertainment and that worked as expected. Dunno if moving such files from OSX to Windows would work as well, but I can't see why not.
    gibouille and tatsujb like this.
  4. cptconundrum

cptconundrum Post Master General

I haven't tested this, but it's worth a try.

• Back up the localstore folder that @cola_colin showed you in case you break something.
    • Set up Dropbox on both computers.
    • Copy the localstore folder into Dropbox, then create a symlink to the dropbox folder on each machine you want to link together.
  5. tatsujb

tatsujb Post Master General