So, the basics?

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by ph4ntoms33ker, December 8, 2012.

1. ph4ntoms33ker

ph4ntoms33ker New Member

So, I've never really played RTS games, my only real experience is with Soldiers Heroes of WWII and R.U.S.E. I haven't played Total Annihilation or Supreme Commander orany of the like+ (I know, how dare I?) so there's a couple of things I don't really understand. The commanders being the main one. What's their role? Just as an avatar? Or as an actual unit in game (the one that constructs buildings)? Maybe both? As you can tell, I am a COMPLETE noob, drawn in to this game by the planetary annihilation, if you will (oh look he made a joke).
  2. RaTcHeT302

RaTcHeT302 Guest

They are like the most important piece on chess, if you lose him you lose the match, with an explosion sending every unit sky high too. He acts also as mobile building unit wich can build anywhere, like a "command center" but being able to also obtain resources, repair, and so on.

He can build basic buildings wich allow the creation of higher tier constructors leading to even more advanced buildings, factories, defenses, and all that.
  3. eukanuba

eukanuba Well-Known Member

I recommend the OP goes on YouTube and searches for FA casts by praisegugleourmaster. He does a very good job of explaining what's going on.

But yes, the short answer is that the commander is the starting unit who is very powerful and can build an infrastructure, but if he dies it's game over.
  4. KNight

KNight Post Master General

To learn more about the FA Mythos, read this.

The Infinite War by DotsWarlock

Most SupCom community Members pretty much accept his work as Canon and while it's not directly related to TA/PA, it follows all the main themes like the Commander/ACU and the act of building an army on site as opposed to transporting them and such.

Mike
  5. ph4ntoms33ker

ph4ntoms33ker New Member