Share Your Wisdom

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by probodobodyne, July 13, 2015.

1. probodobodyne

probodobodyne Active Member

Hey guys, as you may have known that, I am a new player and I believe a lot of the people here have been playing for a long, long time, so if you want to pass on any tips and tricks, this is a good spot.

Some clues on how you could help me, though you don't have to follow them strictly:

- I often feel overwhelmed without a sense of direction.
    - I have very little experience in naval combat.
    - I don't know how landmines are useful, not that I ever tried them but the game is in such a large scale, who's going to bother placing landmines one by one?
    Nicb1 and cdrkf like this.
  2. cdrkf

cdrkf Post Master General

First thing is area commands! If you build something, want to attack something, want to patrol and so on, click and dragging will apply an area command rather than doing it once. These are so helpful (e.g. want to queue up 10 factories, click and drag and you can make 10 in a line with one click).

Some other things that are helpful: Mods! PA was built with modding as an officially endorsed feature, and 'UI' mods (that don't change the underlying game) are all officially allowed in ladder play and in tournaments as they only adjust things like UI or visual FX.

To get mods you need to install the community built 'PA Mod Manager' (reffered to as PAMM on the forums mostly) from here:
    https://forums.uberent.com/threads/pa-mod-manager-pamm-cross-platform.59992/

Once you have that, you can browse through available mods (separated into UI mods as mentioned above, and 'server' mods which modify the games e.g. new units and so on).

Depending on how you want to play PA these are some useful ones I'd look at:
    PA Stats- this is a great tool, it records your games and statistics and allows you to view them on a website http://www.pastats.com/