Roads/Paths

Discussion in 'Backers Lounge (Read-only)' started by shadeusx, February 14, 2013.

1. shadeusx

shadeusx New Member

Hey guys! Not sure if this has already been addressed or what, but I recently saw this thread on bridges, and I couldn't help but wonder,
    Will we be able to build roads or paths on a planet or asteroid?

Here are just a few of my personal ideas:

• 1. These roads will obviously allow a speed boost through whatever terrain it encounters.
      2. They could be used to organize bases or have a way to evacuate quickly.
      3. I even had an idea about being able to build a "fake" road of sorts. Something like you could booby trap the road with mines.

I'm not a very techie person, so I'm not even sure this would be feasible. What are your opinions?
  2. KNight

KNight Post Master General

Last edited: February 14, 2013
  3. bobucles

bobucles Post Master General

Building roads/highways falls under the guise of low level terraforming. Might be cool. It really depends on how strongly unit movement responds to terrain.

Since you're new I'll mention that transports and unit cannons are popular options to get units across distant reaches of land. Roads may not even be required if a superior option can be used from inside the base.

At the very least, it's virtually guaranteed that we'll be able to suck up obstructing foliage/wreckage/rocks to make clearer paths for units.
  4. shadeusx

shadeusx New Member

Yes, however, this thread was made back when the kickstarter was nearly brand new. I would like to see some updated feedback.

I appreciate your concern, but I actually have been on PA Forums since the Kickstarter. I just tend to be a lurker sometimes :oops: