Personal MacBook Pro experience so far

Discussion in 'Mac and Linux' started by garat, June 20, 2013.

1. garat

garat Cat Herder Uber Alumni

Hey all - So, we've made some improvements to the Mac build, and build over all, the past few days. Good news is that I was able to get into a game twice in a row (planet loaded, building bases, etc). CPU utilization was about what I'd expect, though perhaps a bit high still.. 225% utilization, or two and a quarter of my four cores in my i7.

This is a huge improvement. However, the bad news is we're clearly doing some BAD process things on OS/X. I have no clue what. One, I'm not technical enough, but I was getting huge hitches, and inability to keep up. However, I think I have enough info that we should be able to make big leaps forward on this in the coming days.

If you have a late model Mac Mini, Mac Pro or iMac, you should try and hop in again. If you're on a MacBook 2011 or newer, give it a shot, but be prepared to terminate the process.

From a gameplay perspective, most of things you expect to be able to do in Windows, you can do in Mac now.. Gameplay feels pretty good, when it works. But we need to track down what's going on here.

Edit:
    Late 2011 15" Mac Book Pro, 10.8.x (latest), 2.5 Core i7, 16GB memory, SSD main (Where steam was running)

Your mileage may vary. :)
  2. bwesterb

bwesterb New Member

On my Retina MacBook Pro I only get a freeze when zooming out from the planet into galactic view. The rest seems to be improved a lot since the build a few days ago, thanks!
  3. byte01

byte01 Member

Not on MBP, but iMac.
    This build:
    1. Start: started i landed on the mon, without textures, was like instant start.
    2. Start: again moon, but this time fully textured, looked nice, start was a bit slower but still quite fast