Music pitch altered?

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by blackeagle11, March 1, 2014.

1. blackeagle11

blackeagle11 New Member

Just a curious thing, but I noticed the music for the game was altered to be in higher pitches despite the original recordings being lower. Personally, I prefer them lower in their original form as it sounds more realistic and less "cartooney" that raising the entire pitch of the soundtrack gives it - do you think there can be an option to put the music back to it's normal pitch? Or is it something that will be done eventually anyway?

(Could just be annoying me since I'm a musician.)

Found out while using fmod to take a look at the soundtrack. I won't be posting any of it online or sharing it, it's just for my own purposes :D
  2. emraldis

emraldis Post Master General

Well the music is now the orchestral version, I haven't noticed any other changes though...
  3. blackeagle11

blackeagle11 New Member

I meant the orchestral version is raised in pitch in the actual game. If you use fmod to view the soundtrack, it comes out in a lower and far more realistic sounding way since it's how the original recordings sounded.
  4. emraldis

emraldis Post Master General

Huh. Haven't tried that.
  5. bgolus

bgolus Uber Alumni

Sounds like another bug. As far as I can tell the music I hear in game matches the pitch I hear from the source files or FMOD.
  6. bmb

bmb Well-Known Member

I wonder what is your windows sample rate set to? It could be that the game is speeding up sounds to match for some reason instead of resampling.
  7. BulletMagnet

BulletMagnet Post Master General

Possible, but unlikely. The only standard sampling rates that would produce slightly elevated pitch would be playing 44.1kHz at 48kHz. That's a ~9% pitch adjustment, but it's also a ~9% increase in tempo. I expect that would stand out more.
  8. blackeagle11

blackeagle11 New Member