[mod] UI Mod

Discussion in 'Mod Discussions' started by oxide246, June 9, 2013.

1. oxide246

oxide246 Active Member

Hey Everyone,

I am a web developer by profession, and when I heard that PA would be using Coherent UI, effectively making the UI a web browser I got very excited! :)

I was curious to see if the UI would render experimental webgl features.. and sure enough it does!

Screenshot
    Screenshot

Files
    Zip File

Just copy the folder into your Planetary Annihilation install directory and merge/replace any files it asks you to. If you don't like it or it breaks something, you can click the "VerifyFiles" button in the PALauncher to revert your game back to normal.

Cheers,
  2. fprobber

fprobber New Member

I can only imagine the kinds of awesome UI mods that will come out. I already looked at the files myself yesterday, but I'm having problems coding a HTML UI without having access to Chrome's dev tools or Firebug. I hope there will at least be some kind of JS console at some point.
  3. oxide246

oxide246 Active Member

Yeah, not having any debug tools did make it quite difficult. I ended up dumping debug into a div on the page as a work around. I did notice that in some of the files there were some console.log's being done. So maybe the Uber staff have a method for viewing this.
  4. Raevn

Raevn Moderator Alumni

5. DeadMG

DeadMG Member

It's disabled for the UI, at least right now. Perhaps the Uber internal builds have it enabled.
  6. shadowmint

shadowmint New Member

Modding the game might not be the best idea, honestly.

When you're playing, you're submitting usage stats to Uber on how the game runs, where it crashes, etc. I'm sure.

If you mod the engine you might start generating a bunch of false positives about the mod'd version of the game, especially if multiple people are using the same mod so it doesn't de-sync and the game actually runs.