[Linux] Can't press Enter in ingame chat anymore

Discussion in 'Support!' started by Klau3, May 25, 2014.

  1. Klau3

    Klau3 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    OS: Ubuntu-GNOME 14.04 64 Bit

    Currently it is not possible for me to press Enter to post a chat message ingame :(
    shootall likes this.
  2. fbcouch

    fbcouch New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1 I have the same issue (Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit)
    shootall likes this.
  3. metaphaze

    metaphaze Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gentoo linux, can't send messages, but i can type them in the box in team chat, game normal chat and lobby chat. I can type messages, but pressing enter has no effect.

    I believe this is linked to another problem I noticed... you can't press enter anymore when you log into the game. After entering your password you used to be able to press enter and it would sign you in. Now you have to press the sign in button.
    shootall likes this.
  4. AyanZo

    AyanZo Active Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    27
    So I'm not alone here it seems, and it's specific to linux in 'submitting' text. There's no issue with pressing enter to bring up the textbox.
    shootall likes this.
  5. shootall

    shootall Active Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    184
  6. Kola2

    Kola2 Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    46
    I had this problem on my mac, chance the normal chat key to something else like <.
    It should work then.
  7. SXX

    SXX Post Master General

    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    Task on bugtracker: PA#3448. I have this problem too.
    I suppose it's somehow related to finishing of game porting to SDL.
    shootall likes this.
  8. DeathByDenim

    DeathByDenim Post Master General

    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Hmm, other keys are messed up as well. Shift + '-' for example pastes the text in clipboard. It seems to be mapped to Shift + <Insert>, I guess?
    shootall likes this.
  9. SXX

    SXX Post Master General

    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    What actually interesting, Enter work for me in console ('console.js'), but not work in chat's.
    I'm investigated this a bit and this looks like problem on UI-side and it's looks like "model.chatSelected" not work properly anymore. Might be client APIs related to keyboard input got broken due to SDL2 change?

    Still as I said input in console works so here is diff for workaround POC for "new_game" screen from 66863:
    Code:
    diff -bur new_game_old/new_game.html new_game/new_game.html
    --- new_game_old/new_game.html  2014-06-02 02:50:49.716682568 +0400
    +++ new_game/new_game.html      2014-06-02 02:50:57.040642410 +0400
    @@ -274,7 +274,7 @@
                             </div>
                         </div>
                         <form data-bind="submit: sendChat" id="send-chat">
    -                        <input type="text" value="" class="input_text input_chat_text" data-bind="hasfocus: chatSelected" />
    +                        <input type="text" value="" class="input_text input_chat_text" data-bind="hasfocus: chatSelected" id='chatInput' />
                         </form>
                     </div>
                 </div>
    diff -bur new_game_old/new_game.js new_game/new_game.js
    --- new_game_old/new_game.js    2014-06-02 02:50:49.716682568 +0400
    +++ new_game/new_game.js        2014-06-02 02:51:05.724594799 +0400
    @@ -1389,19 +1389,17 @@
    
         $("#radio").buttonset();
    
    -    $('body').keydown(
    +    $("#chatInput").keydown(
             function (event) {
                 if (event.keyCode === keyboard.esc)
                 {
    -                if (model.chatSelected())
    -                    model.chatSelected(false);
    +               return false;
                 }
                 else if (event.keyCode === keyboard.enter)
                 {
    -                if (model.chatSelected())
    -                    $(".chat_input_form").submit();
    +                $("#send-chat").submit();
    
    -                model.chatSelected(true);
    +               return true;
                 }
             }
         );
    
    Possible this can break something else and live_game a bit more complicated to fix it fast so I decide don't touch it. So it's totally possible to make temporary workaround for that, I doubt I can do that well enough. :-(
    shootall and DeathByDenim like this.
  10. metaphaze

    metaphaze Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    9
    how about a send button?
  11. SXX

    SXX Post Master General

    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    Somebody need to make such mod... :rolleyes:
    And I want to believe "game.allowKeyboard" will be fixed soon enough.

Share This Page