Language for PA

Discussion in 'Mod Discussions' started by D3adm0nk3y, June 9, 2013.

1. D3adm0nk3y

D3adm0nk3y Member

Sorry, I don't think I got this info, what language is PA coded in? or at least Us modders will code in? I'm relatively new to programming(Only Know JAVA, but that will fix soon ;) ). Thanks.
  2. feyder

feyder Member

Json is what is used and it's extremely simple.
  3. RCIX

RCIX Member

A better question is: what sort of scripting will be available? JSON is nice but it doesn't let you write code for specific units.
  4. cola_colin

cola_colin Moderator Alumni

Json isnt even a programming language.

The UI of PA uses Javascript with html and css.
    I think Javascript will also be used for other script stuff, but I dunno for sure.
    The core engine is written in C++ I think.
  5. fellowplanet

fellowplanet New Member

We could write a language system with the current UI System. But should we really do this work? Maybe UberEnt already did anything in this direction :lol:

I think XML or JSON files per language in a language directory would do the work?
    Or how did UberEnt planned to do it?
  6. DeadMG

DeadMG Member

It's JavaScript. The UI is in JS, HTML and CSS written in WebKit. The unit descriptions are written in JSON. I didn't see any unit scripts like SupCom had.
  7. Raevn

Raevn Moderator Alumni

They're probably only on the server at this stage.
  8. DeadMG

DeadMG Member

I don't see it. How could the game require the blueprints but not the scripts on the client? If you want to simulate a unit you need both, and if you don't want to simulate a unit you don't need either. Maybe the blueprint is only *part* of the real blueprint that the UI needs?
  9. SXX

SXX Post Master General

I think client side "blueprints" and server side "blueprints" are completely different.
    Client don't need to know what unit actual damage/defense/speed are. Server don't need to know what 3d model, animations, audio and effects unit use.