Is an Advanced Diploma any different from a normal one?

Discussion in 'Unrelated Discussion' started by ZOoo00OOm, March 23, 2012.

1. ZOoo00OOm

ZOoo00OOm New Member

I'm a senior in high school and I'm finishing up this June.

I originally applied for an advanced diploma. One of the ways to get this diploma is I have to pass 4 math subjects (Algebra I, II, Geometry and Calculus). Yeah, I'm not that good at math so I'm having trouble with the last core subject.

Anyway, do colleges really care if you have an AD or no?
    Last edited: March 23, 2012
  2. RandomToon

RandomToon Well-Known Member

Most colleges care about your GPA, to a lesser extend your class rank, and your ACT\SAT scores. If it is a school with a lot of competition like Harvard or Yale, they care if your family are alumni and how much they have donated, and use things like AP and honors classes to raise the bar of entry.

If you plan to go to state college, pursue a major that is not engineering\math focused, are not going for any scholorships that it is a prereq for, or your college of choice won't accept the calculus credit and make you take it again anyway, it is pointless to pursue that diploma.

You getting that diploma is as much\more about your high school getting recognition as it is about you getting into college. Talk to the admissions department of colleges you are applying for and find out for sure - most of them will ask what the heck you are talking about. Ignore your high school guidance counselor, they have another agenda...
  3. ZOoo00OOm

ZOoo00OOm New Member

I was actually planning on become a graphic designer and a historian (two things that I like).

My guidance counselor seems to put a lot of the more difficult classes in my schedule so I can try to get something I probably won't need.
  4. RandomToon

RandomToon Well-Known Member