Introduce me to modding

Discussion in 'Mod Discussions' started by liftupyourheart, February 18, 2015.

?

Would you use this mod?

1. Yes

75.0%
  2. No

25.0%
  1. liftupyourheart

liftupyourheart New Member

Hey, I'm fairly new to PA. My friend group jumped in, hoping to replace SupCom2 with PA as our RTS of choice for gaming sessions. After about 15hrs of gameplay, my review is this: there's some serious UI issues with PA that hinder an otherwise good game. I was just about to leave for greener pastures when I thought, what about making a mod for what I want? I've poked around but haven't seen any "this is how you mod PA" threads/blogs/documents, so I guess I'll just post here. I've been a software engineer for 8yrs who's also dabbled in game dev sporadically - how do I start modding for PA?

My initial thought is a HUD-like overlay on planets to help me keep track of where I am on these rather homogenous rotating spheres. I'd like to do this by:
    1. Draw an equator line. Possibly a two-tone with parallel lines - one signifying North, one South.
    2. Draw N and S marker on the poles.
    3. Draw 4 longitudinal lines to divide the sphere into quadrants and label them, probably just 1-4.
    That should give me plenty of map context information so I don't get lost as I'm running around on a planet.
  2. cola_colin

cola_colin Moderator Alumni

The functions you describe are afaik not possible with a UI mods. "UI" in terms of PA modding usually only means "the 2D HUD in front of the 3D world". So drawing stuff into the 3D world is not possible.
    However using server mods it may be possible to use the effects system to spawn effects to draw into the world. But that is more a "maybe we could do it like this" idea I just randomly had. Would need to look into that.