I went from "SupCom clone plz" to "no you're doing it right"

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by Baleur, May 31, 2013.

1. Baleur

Baleur Member

First off, i'm very very much anticipating this game. I know it will be great, that's a given. The only question is "how" great and during which timeframe! :p

Initially i was a little bit disappointed by some tiny details that had been discussed, such as the simplified resource system, no real "power complex" bonus lines as in SupCom, and no upgrades for the units or factories.
    I will be honest, i thought a bit of the same old "dumbing down" we usually complain about in other games.
    This because i am a huge SupCom fan and played it on and off (casually, skirmish, for fun) for years.

However. And this is a big however.
    I recently started playing Total Annihilation again. As in, getting the gog version, the unofficial community patch, and properly getting into it again instead of just playing a 1 off game then forgetting about the desktop shortcut.
    Playing it "for realz" isntead of just letting it collect dust in my nostalgic memory of it.

And i must say... Despite being the type of gamer that always advocates MOOORE COMPLEXITY MORE MORE. There is a certain elegance in the simplicity of TA. The static factories and mass extractors. The lack of a gazzillion experimentals. The way that even a puny PeeWee has weapons that "feel" like they make a real impact.
    The fact that walls actually make a difference and don't just appear with arbitrary healthbars as if they were a unit idling.
    There's something about it, i can't quite put my finger on it.

I guess the point of this thread is, i'm converted. Converted by revisiting the old times.
    You've made the right choices Uber, i must admit this now.