How much can the game be Optimized?

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by ghoner666, August 21, 2014.

1. ghoner666

ghoner666 Member

Optimization has been talked about left and right, and progress has been awesome, so I'm curious:

Now that Uber has a very advanced Beta in their hand, how hard can the Orange be squeezed?

I'm not a programmer, and even if I was I haven't seen the game's code, but I know there's a limit to optimization, and I think Planetary Annihilation will always be more processor/memory hungry than the average. I think right now the game can remain playable with between 5000 and 10 000 units, depending on how many of them are mobiles...Can we really reach a mighty 1 million? I'd be just happy with 50 000 really. Supreme Commander was chocking with 2000-3000 (against AI), and is not optimized for today's 8 cores, 64bit systems, which is sad.

And that's my other question, how well do you think the game will scale with future computers? Regardless of the level of optimization, the crazy matches that could be played in 5-10 years if PA can fully use these computers, ohmygod.

Your thoughts ?
    Twinstar, Remy561 and donut64 like this.
  2. squishypon3

squishypon3 Post Master General

Hopefully source engine level optimizations. ;)
  3. cptconundrum

cptconundrum Post Master General

The client seems mostly limited by memory and graphics, which at least are the areas where some good progress is still being made on hardware. Games like TA that were also limited by memory were able to be played more smoothly as time went on because people upgraded their computers.
  4. cdrkf

cdrkf Post Master General