Effects of "smaller explosions" on the landscape

Discussion in 'Backers Lounge (Read-only)' started by Kalaskow, February 10, 2013.

1. Kalaskow

Kalaskow New Member

Hey there...

after reading Mavor's blogpost about Terrain Geometry i came up with a question. Actually i wanna describe it with pictures... I want to apologize beforehand for the quality, im not good at Arts...

From the blogpost i extract, that explosion can execute subtract Orders on the Planets Terrain, like subtract a sphere.
    In one sentence... what happens if a hill gets its lower part blown away? Will it collaps or fly in the air?

Attached Files:

• 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      4.8 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      6.4 KB
      Views:
    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      6.8 KB
      Views:
  2. KNight

KNight Post Master General

The only talk about something like this has been focused more on larger weapons, like Nucks and Asteroids, I doubt we'll see the rank and file have much if any effect on terrain.

Mike
  3. BulletMagnet

BulletMagnet Post Master General

True, but it's an important question. Someone will mod grunts with mining lasorz, and this problem will show up.
  4. Pawz

Pawz Active Member

It falls over and makes a minor kinetic impact like a tiny asteroid hitting the planet?

It's not theoretically THAT far apart.
  5. KNight

But that's not Uber's problem, that's the modder's problem.

Mike
  6. paprototype

paprototype Member

Interesting question.
    What happens to falling terrain, if it is even possible to generate.
  7. acey195

acey195 Member

From what I have read, the terrain updating is done server side,
    I guess it is possible to add a check of what vertices are still connected and either removing the floating piece or add a rigid body to it.