16-32 Player FFA and Team Games On Weekends

Discussion in 'PA: TITANS: General Discussion' started by mikeyh, March 10, 2015.

  1. mikeyh

    mikeyh Post Master General

    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    Hey everyone,

    I'm making my https://palobby.com/ SoftLayer bare metal custom server available on weekends for loosely organised big games.

    ie not official tournaments

    Players need to have the following mods installed:
    • Faster Server Browser client mod (remember to change your region filter to any)
    • Game Invites client mod
    • PA Chat client mod
    PALOBBY CONNECT has been added to the start menu as simple alternative to the connect buttons client mod.

    Please
    UNINSTALL the Unlimited Players client mod if you have it installed.

    Games are announced in PA Chat so use one of the following:

    Time brackets for games are loosely scheduled to make sure we get enough players and games are open to anyone who wants to play.

    We alternate between the following:
    • FFA vs team
    • random mixed vs experienced players vs uber level, etc
    For mixed games in stable my custom game redirector sever mod can be used with a proxy game to make games available to random players without the mods installed.

    For those interested in the server CPU specs the current provision is:
    Previously the following was used:
    If you're interested post a reply with any of the following:
    • time bracket on weekends for games (including timezone)
    • map suggestions
    • casters / streamers
    • any other ideas
    Replays are available at https://palobby.com/replays/

    Schedule

    • after Clopsey 13 2v2 16th January 18:00 UTC / 10:00 PST / 17th 06:00 NZT (check PA Chat)
    • 13th January 21:00 UTC
    • 13th January 00:00 UTC
    • no games around Clash of the Titans 19th September 18:00 UTC / 11:00 PST / 20th 06:00 NZT (check PA Chat)
    • around Mystery Mayhem 22nd August 18:00 UTC / 11:00 PST / 23rd 06:00 NZT (check PA Chat)
    • around Big Bang Finals 18th July 18:00 UTC / 11:00 PST / 19th 06:00 NZT (check PA Chat)
    • 12th June from 21:00 UTC / 14:00 PST / 13th 09:00 NZT (check PA Chat)
    • 5th June no games (but check PA Chat)
    • 29th May from 19:00 UTC / 12:00 PST / 30th 07:00 NZT (check PA Chat and depends on server disconnect issues)
    • 22nd May no games (but check PA Chat)
    • 16th May from 19:00 UTC / 12:00 PST / 17th 07:00 NZT (check PA Chat)
    • 9th May before and after Binary Stars 19:00 UTC / 12:00 PST / 10th 07:00 NZT
    • 2nd May (check PA Chat)
    • 25th April (check PA Chat)
    • 18th April from 19:00 UTC / 12:00 PST / 19th 07:00 NZT
    • 11th April after Clan Wars Showdown 20:00 UTC / 13:00 PST / 12th 09:00 NZT
    • before and after KOTP 11:00 UTC / 04:00 PST / 29th 12:00 NZT
    • 21st 21:00 UTC / 14:00 PST / 22nd 10:00 NZT
    • 15th midnight UTC / 14th 17:00 PST after evil twins finals
    Last edited: January 16, 2016
  2. cola_colin

    cola_colin Moderator Alumni

    Messages:
    12,074
    Likes Received:
    16,221
    Has anybody checked what the save+load changes mean for the replay load code? It has to work somehow...
  3. ViolentMind

    ViolentMind Active Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    186
    I'd be up for playing in large games on weekends at any time. I'm partial to team games, but would play FFA too. I'm in the Eastern Time Zone, but could play earlier or later to accommodate those in other time zones. Would not be able to make it from time to time, depending on family obligations, but otherwise, I am open to most time slots.

    It would be cool to use these events to expose people to new Server Mods from time to time as well.
  4. davostheblack

    davostheblack Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    313
    I'd love to see these; we can get some 8 vs 8 vs 8 vs 8 games working!
    lapsedpacifist likes this.
  5. tomofleeds

    tomofleeds New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds good. Work weekend but any time after 9/10 should usually be fine, GMT.
  6. lapsedpacifist

    lapsedpacifist Post Master General

    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    877
    Awesome sauce, sign me up. I agree with mangomango, games with multiple large teams would be fun. Like huge interplanetary FFAs with 5-10 players on each team.
    cdrkf likes this.
  7. dfanz0r

    dfanz0r Active Member

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    47
    Def intrested, I'm in us central, pretty much anytime after 2pm is good for me.
  8. slocke

    slocke Active Member

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    244
    How about every clan turns up with a group of their players. Whoever is online and just play a random crazy game. Make it dynamic alliance so the smaller clans can band together against the bigger clans.
  9. Jackbandanna

    Jackbandanna Active Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    87
    Always up for a big FFA game, usually available on the weekends. I'm on Central US Time and would be open to play after noon.
  10. mikeyh

    mikeyh Post Master General

    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    Jackbandanna likes this.
  11. Jackbandanna

    Jackbandanna Active Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    87
  12. tatsujb

    tatsujb Post Master General

    Messages:
    12,893
    Likes Received:
    5,382
    God Damn I wish I could play one of those.


    I've yet to play one as they lag too much.
  13. tatsujb

    tatsujb Post Master General

    Messages:
    12,893
    Likes Received:
    5,382
  14. zihuatanejo

    zihuatanejo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    577
    Great idea @mikeyh, i'd be up for these games if i can play at that time.
  15. perfectdark

    perfectdark Active Member

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    170
    Yes I would be interested in a massive FFA.
  16. Jackbandanna

    Jackbandanna Active Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    87
  17. elvisior

    elvisior Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    21
    I like big games and I can not lie. Those other brothers don't know why.
    mishtakashi likes this.
  18. Killerkiwijuice

    Killerkiwijuice Post Master General

    Messages:
    3,879
    Likes Received:
    3,597
    [​IMG]
    But wait... it says the max RAM is 764 GB, how much does it really have?
    Last edited: March 12, 2015
    lapsedpacifist likes this.
  19. wpmarshall

    wpmarshall Planetary Moderator

    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    2,989
    Sounds great! :)
  20. mikeyh

    mikeyh Post Master General

    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1,509
    zihuatanejo, guest1 and cdrkf like this.

Share This Page