Can you see why he is saying this?

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by Trisdino, June 29, 2014.

1. Shwyx

Shwyx Well-Known Member

I'm not trying to judge what they're doing, just thinking about a possible explanation. Marketing always is difficult, so is selling your product (I know, I do that for a living), so I can't fault people for trying different approaches. Not all work. Not all will please your customer. But sometimes, doing something new/and or unpopular can pay out.
  2. elonshadow

elonshadow Active Member

while I do (partly, my opinion is more complex) agree about the preoder bonuses, ever since minecraft the early access mentality has gripped the industry, and there's no going back from that.

Thing is preorder bonuses without any tangible game play available till release is a very different from the preorder that's being given while gameplay footage is widely available from the product while it is being developed.

(Although the boxed edition before finished game is somewhat weird, I don't begrudge uber for doing it. Since there is no misadvertising, and especially as the game is on early access anyway)
  3. KNight

KNight Post Master General

Maybe if this stuff was "uncharted territory" I could agree with you, but Pre-Orders and Pre-Order Exclusives aren't new anymore.

Mike
  4. squishypon3

squishypon3 Post Master General

They have already given a legitimate reason though, they didn't want to screw up their deal with Nordic games. If that means releasing an early access physical edition, I'm fine with that! In fact, I don't see the real wrongness behind it, what makes it so special compared to the version you buy online? If anything it's more worth it for your money as it comes with a box and a special commander! It's like a preorder you get months before the game release.