[REL] wScriptSource v0.1.0 - Tiny Source Debugger Mod

Discussion in 'Mod Discussions' started by cptawesomer, March 3, 2014.

1. cptawesomer

cptawesomer Member

Hey all,

I'm new to modding PA, but this afternoon I started fooling around with PA's modding capabilities. I instantly missed something I have in traditional webdevelopment: proper access to sources and breakpoints in the debugger!

Untangling source files & enabling breakpoints
    I digged a little futher and I noticed the vanilla game JS loads the mods by reading them and appending them into a <script> tag in the body of the game UI. This mod alters the behaviour in such a way that the mod JavaScript sources are added by linking the source instead of appending it.

Caution!
    This mod shadows the shared "common.js" file. This is a tool to be used for debugging only. It has helped me quite a bit to look into how other mods work by being able browse through their sources much easier and helped me debug my own. It's easy to turn on and off when needed in PAMM.

Screenshot
    A view of mod sources and breakpoints in the Coherent UI Debugger:
    [​IMG]
    Maybe there are other ways to get breakpoints/sources working, but this helped me quite a bit and I wanted to share my work. I hope it will help someone else aswell!

Now available on PAMM!

Repository can now be found on GitHub:

https://github.com/TheMagnificentWerty/wScriptSource

Attached Files:

Last edited: March 6, 2014
  2. tatsujb

tatsujb Post Master General

<picture is now part of the main post, thanks tatsujb>
    Last edited by a moderator: March 3, 2014
  3. cptawesomer

cptawesomer Member

Thanks tatsujb, you're awesome.
  4. cola_colin

cola_colin Moderator Alumni

WOW
    does this work without flaws though? 2 things:

1.) Doesn't this change how relative paths in the js resolve?