Orbital units - 2 directions

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by neutrino, August 28, 2013.

1. neutrino

neutrino low mass particle Uber Employee

Good summary.
  2. Ortikon

Ortikon Active Member

3. iron420

iron420 Well-Known Member

Hey I'm not badgering (or at least, trying to) you Neutrino. I honestly am curious when I ask those questions.

I wasn't suggesting any changes on how units move at all if you read closely and I never suggested ditching geosinc necessarily at any point either so if you have that I'm still not seeing time scale issues. Many people here suggested high top speeds and slow deceleration though.

We know it's fake, I for 1 don't care. I wasn't shooting for realism either if you didn't notice... I would hope you take any part you like from suggestions you see in this thread and try not to see each thing as a package deal, dismissing them outright because you think you've seen something similar.

I am not a game programmer like you, but I am a programmer (I've even used Open GL). I have a feeling this game will be object oriented and that objects like "tanks" derive from objects like "unit". I was only suggesting my idea from that point of view. Trying to treat "KEW"s (which, by the way, I obviously meant asteroids...) as units to help leverage that code more than once for a similar activity. If units in the orbital layer all moved the same way, that's just how that layer works for "unit" objects from which asteroids and satellites both derive. You can even consider the engine structure the "unit" for as far as in game movement is concerned. You are adding a new dimension to RTS and it has already forced you to think outside the box... I only offer these as paths to consider and ask for your best explaination on reasoning I don't understand. Maybe there is a barrier, try not to get frustrated though.