Reproduction of cursor bug

Discussion in 'Mac and Linux' started by SXX, August 23, 2013.

1. natewiebe13

natewiebe13 New Member

I'm no expert in GL, I'm going by what I've heard and read in my spare time. Feel free to correct me when I'm wrong. =D
  2. SXX

SXX Post Master General

I don't mean you're wrong. I mean devs probably don't think about cursor replacing code as much as we do. o_O
    They just used code which worked for them.

PS: I love these smiles... ^_^
  3. cola_colin

cola_colin Moderator Alumni

Why should they bother to use multiple "real" windows for that? They might as well render them all in one single "real" window?

EDIT:
    And even if that borderless window concept somehow should end up making sense you could easily detect this situation and render the cursor on all windows in this kind of edge case.
  4. SXX

SXX Post Master General

It's just an idea. But splitting different viewpoints to different windows/processes might give game more scalability while it's will be more stable. It's also might give better performance because operation system window managers are designed to effective manage windows.

Yes you can, but it's might create more problems than current solution. I doubt Uber think about possible problems while they done version of cursor support.

You just never know what problems you met when you create some brand-new engine.
  5. sagittarii

sagittarii New Member

Isnt this a problem with the compositing window manager and maybe not so much with the driver?.

I'v found that:

Gnome3 + mutter = mouse cursor bug
    LXDE + xcompmg = no mouse cursor bug
  6. SXX

SXX Post Master General

There is no bugs (except very slow flickering, e.g no blackbox, no stopped refreshing while OpenGL used for KWin) on open source drivers. On proprietary drivers flickering fixed used tear free, so I think it's a bit different problems.

PA actually even work with LLVMpipe. :eek: