Balance is a non issue - lets talk about bugs and software quality.

Discussion in 'PA: TITANS: General Discussion' started by Greendolph, February 6, 2016.

1. Greendolph

Greendolph Active Member

A lot of players seem to enjoy complaining about balance in a game where both players have access to the same units. Balance effects the mood of the game and the dominant strategies, but issues with individual units pales in comparison with another issue.
    (Many) Months after release and after a major expansion, PA is still by far the buggiest game I own (ignoring, for now, the DayZ standalone.) Before people go screaming "you don't know how hard coding is".. I am a software developer. I understand - mostly.
    When I or the person reviewing my code finds a bug, I fix it before I move on to other features. This is basic QA.

Buttons regularly fail to complete any action. Large units (like commanders) often walk in the opposite direction you ask them too. The system designer is an absolute mess - especially with the innovative non-deterministic saving that Uber seems to have invented. The chronocam double-speed doesn't work reliably, even though the presentation layer updates and claims it does. If you click any buttons or tab out while a system is loading you may either crash to desktop or simply load in to a game with no units.

I checked - I am not running PT, but it sure feels like it.

The last hotfix was in October of last year.

PA:T is hands down my favorite game I have ever played. It pains me to see it in this condition.

If someone can give me a long rant about the history of the project and the reasons it is in the shape it is in, maybe I can direct my ire at dynamically typed languages and their difficulty with compile time error checking instead.
    xankar likes this.
  2. stylisticsagittarius

stylisticsagittarius Active Member