New neural networks coming to PA

Discussion in 'Planetary Annihilation General Discussion' started by Sorian, February 13, 2015.

1. theseeker2

theseeker2 Well-Known Member

Have you done anything with neural nets & AIs outside of vidya gaems?
  2. Sorian

Sorian Official PA

Nope, but would definitely be interested in it.
    zihuatanejo likes this.
  3. theseeker2

I'd also be interested in it, but I finished my degree quite a while ago, there wasn't really a major AI field then (and neural nets certainly weren't around). It seems that the field is on the edge of a major breakthrough, with neural nets & self-evolving hardware like the FPGA article I linked. Perhaps the only roadblock now is to get an AI to select its own problems to solve, without human input.
  4. destravous

destravous Member

Um guys:
    http://waitbutwhy.com/2015/01/artificial-intelligence-revolution-1.html
    http://waitbutwhy.com/2015/01/artificial-intelligence-revolution-2.html

Basically a summarization of the implications of the ai you describe
    (apparently, the experts think that this could be really good or really bad)

While I think its a great Idea, we need to be careful.
  5. Quitch

Quitch Post Master General

People were expecting a revolution in AI back when LISP first emerged.We've generally proven to be incredibly overoptimistic about AI advances.
    vyolin, julien119, Obscillesk and 5 others like this.
  6. theseeker2

I am not a careful person, and to be quite frank, EMP technology exists, and I do not see a reason why an EMP would not be sufficient to disable even the largest supercomputers.
  7. cola_colin

cola_colin Moderator Alumni

the epic race of fusion power and better AIs. Place your bets now.
    julien119, Bsport, Remy561 and 4 others like this.
  8. theseeker2

It's true, but there's still been progress, and there's nothing to suggest that a self-advancing AI isn't possible.
  9. zihuatanejo

zihuatanejo Well-Known Member

That'd be pretty cool!