crashes on imac

Discussion in 'Mac and Linux' started by badfucatus, October 30, 2014.

1. badfucatus

badfucatus Active Member

Hi guys

Just got my new iMac, thought I'd test the beast with a drop of PA. Looks great but keeps randomly crashing. find attached the error log.
    This could be my fault of course, seeing that I brought a new key for the mac on the same account as my PC version. tried an offline game still the same thing happened . I was thinking about helping you out. Im a complete noob on macs this being my first.

Attached Files:

2. badfucatus

badfucatus Active Member

for example it took me ten minutes just to figure out how to create a pdf file!!
  3. DeathByDenim

DeathByDenim Post Master General

Nah, the keys won't be the issue. You don't need a new key if you switch OS. You Uber account will function on any OS.

In any case, your Mac certainly looks powerful enough that it shouldn't have any problems running PA. According to the log, PA accessed invalid memory, which would be a bug in PA.

Can you also post the log from ~/Library/Application Support/Uber Entertainment/Planetary Annihilation/log ? (The ~ stands for your home-directory). I think you need to go to Finder, then from the menu select "Go" -> "Go to folder..." to access those.
    badfucatus likes this.
  4. badfucatus

badfucatus Active Member

This is all new to me, thanks man.
    I brought it for work, but...you know... hope they find a fix for it, because it runs fantastic just up to the random crashes. Maybe it's the comp telling me to get back to work.
  5. badfucatus

badfucatus Active Member

Still getting crashes since the last patch... lasted longer this time though.
  6. badfucatus

badfucatus Active Member

Just as an update, it seems to be better. Much more stable, although the launcher still keeps crashing, but does not seem to effect gameplay.
    DeathByDenim likes this.
  7. holdeg2

holdeg2 New Member