[MAC] Vent thread? Vent thread! I payed for this.

Discussion in 'Mac and Linux' started by aeduh, September 7, 2014.

1. cptoatmeal

cptoatmeal New Member

I actually did poke around at the app with Instruments for a bit, the other day. As I mentioned above, the vast majority of time spent is in glDrawElementsInstancedBaseVertex_STD_GL3Exec() (and then, deeper, gldRenderTriangles()). I can run it again and give you the full output. Are there any other instruments you'd like me to add as well?

Nope, it was a completely standard OS X 10.9.4 system with that fps. I only started playing with drivers because of this very disparity. I currently have an NVidia preferences pane installed that lets me toggle between their drivers and the stock ones – both have similarly abysmal performance.
  2. cptoatmeal

cptoatmeal New Member

Ok, I ran several profiles at various points in the process. The file is too large to upload so I stashed it on some public file site: http://www.filedropper.com/pa72332osx109428ghz8gb512geforce9600minstruments

Below are two screenshots from the same trace.

upload_2014-9-18_21-24-28.png

upload_2014-9-18_21-24-58.png
    Last edited: September 19, 2014
    SXX and DeathByDenim like this.
  3. jorgenpt

jorgenpt Uber Programmer Uber Alumni

Thank you for these profiles! Can you show me what the logs say when you start the game? (Just go into menu and exit) You can find them in ~/Library/Application\ Support/Uber\ Entertainment/Planetary\ Annihilation/log
    SXX likes this.
  4. cptoatmeal

cptoatmeal New Member

Here you go.

Attached Files:

DeathByDenim likes this.
  5. jorgenpt

Can you update to today's PTE, and start the game with the following command from Terminal:

Code:
    /Users/shalevold/Library/Application Support/Uber Entertainment/Planetary Annihilation/data/streams/PTE/PA.app/Contents/MacOS/PA --apple-mtgl-mode=off